StädteRegion Aachen

The Aachen City Region is an innovative association made up of the cities of Aachen, Alsdorf, Baesweiler, Eschweiler, Herzogenrath, Monschau, Stolberg and Würselen as well as the communities of Simmerath and Roetgen. Since 2009 she has taken the position of the Aachen district and combines many services around the topics of learning, life, social affairs and leisure with the aim of continuously improving the standard of living of its residents. Since October 21, 2009, the city region is the legal successor of the Aachen district, which was discontinued and whose nine municipalities with the independent city of Aachen form the new city region. The Aachen city region, consisting of eight cities and two municipalities, extends from the city of Baesweiler in the north over approx. 50 kilometers to the city of Monschau in the south. Around 2,200 people work in around 1,700 positions in the administration of the city region. The former district building (now "House of the City Region") on Aachen's Zollernstrasse is the seat of the City Region of Aachen.